Charitable Trust Committee

Meeting Minutes for June 2, 2022 via Videoconference/Teleconference and In-Person

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Catherine Shannon, Co-Chair (via videoconference) Designee for State Treasurer Michael Frerichs

Erica Spangler Raz, Co-Chair Designee for Attorney General Kwame Raoul

Ariana Correa (via videoconference) Designee for Illinois Lt. Governor Juliana Stratton

Angie Skinner (via videoconference)

Designee for the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity

Shelmun Dashan (via videoconference) Designee for the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation

Andreason Brown (via videoconference)

Joan Dixon (via videoconference)

Dale Morrissey (via videoconference)

Butch Trusty (via videoconference)

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT

Patricia Mota

Sheila Simon

TREASURER'S STAFF

Alex Armour, Director of Charitable Trust (via videoconference) Illinois State Treasurer's Office

Veronica Lynch, Executive Assistant to the Chief of Staff Illinois State Treasurer's Office Nelson Oquendo, Network Support Technician Illinois State Treasurer's Office

1) Call to Order/Welcome and Introductions

The meeting was called to order by Catherine Shannon at 3:03 PM.

Alex Armour called the roll

A quorum (9 members) was present.

2) Approval of Minutes from March 3, 2022

Dale Morrissey moved to approve the minutes. Joan Dixon seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously.

3) Report on Application Scoring/Recommendation on Grant Awards

Alex Armour shared the name of the ten organizations that scored the highest. Andreason Brown commended the finalists for representing a diverse area of the state, and the focus areas of food, housing, and workforce development were spot on in terms of where the need is currently. Dale Morrissey commented that there were a lot of quality organizations that he felt did not quite fit the focus areas. Joan Dixon voiced agreement with Dale in expressing appreciation for the wide range of applicants, but also felt some were not fits for the focus areas.

Dale Morrissey moved to accept the ten highest scoring applicants as grant finalists. Erica Spangler Raz seconded the motion. The finalists were approved unanimously.

Catherine Shannon thanked the committee for their time and effort in scoring the applications.

4) Update on Spring 2021 Grantees

Alex Armour provided an update on the Spring 2021 grantees and shared highlights from recent grant reports.

5) Report on the Charitable Trust Fund

Alex Armour provided an update on the Charitable Trust Fund balance, and fund revenues and expenditures.

6) <u>Legislative Update</u>

Catherine Shannon provided an overview of the statutory changes that were enacted as part of the FY 23 Budget Implementation Act, and provided an update on the FY 23 appropriation that was approved for the Charitable Trust Program.

7) Public Comment

No members of the public were on the call to provide public comments.

8) New Business

Catherine Shannon mentioned that the next meeting's videoconferencing would change from Microsoft Teams to Cisco WebEx.

Butch Trusty suggested that at the next meeting, the committee review and discuss the grant focus areas and how applicants fit in those focus areas and if there are additional questions that could be added to clarify the review process.

Shelmun Dashan stated that she agreed with Butch's point that the rubric is sometimes tough to match up to the questions we ask.

Catherine Shannon mentioned that we would be revisiting the program design and grant focus areas at the September 1st meeting.

9) Adjournment

Joan Dixon moved to adjourn the meeting. Andreason Brown seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 3:40 PM.